FAIL (the browser should render some flash content, not this).


Every time a purchase is made using the "Shop From Your Heart" website, a portion of the sales will be donated to United Way of South Hampton Roads. Please join us as we help give back to our community during this holiday season! Click HERE to start shopping!


Who We Are



“To enable and empower youth to be productive members of society, and also inspire all girls to be strong, smart, and bold.”



Girls Incorporated of Southwest Hampton Roads Center for Youth is a not-for-profit corporation with centers in Portsmouth and Chesapeake, Virginia. Formerly known as the Girls Club of Portsmouth, this long time youth service organization was founded by the Portsmouth Service League in September 1958. The first center was located on the comer of South and Dinwiddie Street. The Club later moved to South Street and King Street. In 1959, the Club became an affiliate of Girls Clubs of America. Later in the 1960′s the Club relocated to its third location on Race Street. The Portsmouth Club branched out to the city of Chesapeake and began serving youth in the Broadmoor community on Poplar Avenue in 1980. In 1991, the name changed to Girls Incorporated of Southwest Hampton Roads Center for Youth to reflect the outreach of youth services from Portsmouth, Suffolk and Chesapeake. Currently, the Center is located at 5905 Portsmouth Boulevard, Portsmouth, Virginia 23701.

Girls Inc. upheld the motto, “Growing up is serious business” and opened up a new facility on Portsmouth Boulevard in 1996 and began reaching out further in Chesapeake at the Indian River location in 1998. A capital campaign was conducted in 2000 that added a mini gym to help make the services provided complete.



  • Dr. Jackie Jackson


The Corporation is governed by a Board of Directors. The Board of Directors meets monthly and represents a diverse population of Southwest Hampton Roads. New board members are nominated in November and attend the Annual meeting held in January.

    • Lisa Lucas-Burke, President
    • Vivian Oden, Vice President
    • Donna Saffold, Secretary
    • Cherron Mitchell
    • Vivian Oden
    • Monique Bass
    • Ross Cherry
    • Gloria Creecy
    • Judy Stephenson
    • Alyson Wyatt
    • Annie Gunter
    • Frankie Edmondson